Interested in joining the Board?

Join the Friends Society

The Friends Society support’s MONOVA’s objectives to transform the way people experience North Vancouver’s stories through innovative programming.

We invest in programs and exhibits that ignite curious minds including:   

  • Authentic sharing of Indigenous knowledge and First Peoples Principles of Learning.
  • Sensory Friendly Mornings that offer children with autism spectrum disorder tailored museum visits in a calm atmosphere.
  • Experiencing the Archives in new ways with online archival exhibits and #NorthVanStories Living History project.
  • School curriculum-based activities for pre-schoolers to teens.
  • Thought-provoking exhibits and events, and so much more.

Our Focus

We are a charity and membership organization dedicated to developing awareness of our community history by supporting and raising funds for MONOVA.

Hear about the new Museum from a fellow Friends Director by clicking on the video.

We are 99% of the way to achieving our new Museum fundraising goal. Help us to transform the way we experience North Vancouver’s stories.

Friends of the North Vancouver Museum & Archives Society Registered Charity No. 89031 1772 RR0001.

Get Involved

Anybody can show their support by purchasing a Friends Leadership Circle Membership. Members enjoy a full range of benefits including an annual Museum pass and partial tax receipt (full benefit list).

Our People

Friends Leadership Circle Members can apply to be on the Board of Directors which are voted on annually at the Friends Society AGM. Apply to become a Board Member by emailing John Gilmour, President at

Board of Directors
Victor Elderton, Joan Fleischer, John Gilmour, Gregory Holmes, Terry Hood, Shirin Ismail, Kenneth Izatt, Delane Knight, John Lakes, Terry McAlduff, Robert McCormack, Mina Mashhour, Donna Oseen, Jennifer Pantel

Friends Leadership Circle Members
Don Bell, Justin Beveridge, Bruce Coulbourn, Arthur Davies, Phil Webber and Nicole Deveaux Deveaux, Audrey Dewan, Catharine Downes, Jonathan and Diane Ehling, Victor James Elderton, Kevin and Ronnaug Evans, Anne Marie Ferguson, Joan Fleischer, James Fox, Paul Geddes, Sharon Gerbasi, John Gilmour, Dianne Globe, Jack Habart, Derek Hamill, Lori Herman, Terry Hood, Debbie Hope, Stephen Irving, Shirin Ismail, Kenneth Izatt, Suzanne Izatt, Gilbert Joynt, John Kennedy, Jacqueline Kerstiens, Audrey Kirkpatrick, Nancy Kirkpatrick, Delane Knight, June Knight, Simon Koldyk, John Lakes, Laurel Lawry, Brian Lawry, Paul McAlduff, Terry McAlduff, Robert McCormack, Dean McDonald, Donna McGeachie, Allan McMordie, Mina Mashhour, Peter Miller, Jason Milne, Mel Monsell, Wendy Morrow-Donaldson, John O’Flynn, Judy Oberlander, Donna Oseen, Jennifer Pantel, David Perfitt, Matti Polychronis, Sharon Proctor, Donald Reid, Maureen Rennie, Shirley Sutherland, Joan Thornley, Tony Valente, Dianne Ward, Morag Wehrle, Wesley Wenhardt, Sandra White

(Revised: 31 August 2021)

Refer to the North Shore News’s recent Connect with Charitable Organizations feature for more information.